Living Intentionally and with Excellence

I know it’s a cliché, however, I’m starting to understand what people mean when they say “life’s too short to ___fill in the blank___” I think for me the phrase is “Life’s too short to live unintentionally.” I want to do my best to live each moment intentionally, thinking through what I’m doing and why, being aware of what I’m consuming (food, drink and media, etc). 

Growing up my parents emphasized “excellence.” We were to do everything in an excellent way: from sweeping and mopping the kitchen floor, to conversations with friends, doing our jobs, even playing (using our imaginations instead of being bored) etc.  This is one of the greatest lessons that my parents instilled in me (even if I tease Dad about the time he made me clean the kitchen floors again: “the point of mopping is not to just get the floor wet but to pick up anything that sweeping left behind.” Or that sometimes I tease mom by repeating “if you’re bored you’re not using your imagination!” Some things stay with you J).

Living intentionally and with excellence go hand in hand. If I’m intentional about what I eat, what I drink, what I read, what I watch, what I say, what I do, I think that excellence will automatically follow.

Part of the reason I started this blog is to be intentional about keeping track of what I’m learning during this season (I’ve tried journaling, it’s not for me).  Blogging about things requires me to a) really think things through b) describe it in a succinct way c) have accountability to live up to what I’m writing. It also gives me a way to share what I’m learning and the ability to go back and revisit these lessons. I want to be able to look back in the future and remember what I am currently learning or to see where I’ve grown even further in certain areas.

I don’t want my life to look like what the world says it should be: busy, full of things, full of money, seeking pleasure, constantly being plugged in. I want my life to be full of real, fulfilling relationships, intentional living, and excellence – aiming to be the best that I can be in every aspect of my life.

3 thoughts on “Living Intentionally and with Excellence

  1. Well-said! Though, I am such a journaler that the concept of not journaling just sounds so sad to me!

    This question is merely just for reflection, but do you ever think living to excellence makes you a perfectionist/undermines the whole concept of ‘grace’? I suppose not, if living in excellence means that you are excellent about grace, but I am just mulling over it, as my initial reaction to the whole philosophy was “well, that’s a lot of pressure!”

    • Maybe it’s an introvert/extrovert thing? I need to know there is the possibility of people interaction with my journal? haha 😉

      I think that’s a really good point. Something I want to think about more. My initial thought: I think part of the striving for excellence includes excellence in humility and a willingness to learn from mistakes. I used to expect perfection from myself. It’s something I’m working on (maybe a whole other post…). But I don’t think that perfection and excellence are the same thing. Definitely something to think about further 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Movin' On Down and commented:
    I love how she brings her parent’s influence into her life experiences. My parents, as many do, remain to be such an enormous part of my life and a huge influence on my decisions. When I moved out of their home, I moved literally next door. I don’t picture myself ever living far away from them nor can I imagine the day when I won’t have both of them anymore.

    I couldn’t agree more with the thought that life is too short to live unintentionally. I’m not saying that everyone should be an idiot and go around using YOLO as an excuse for every dumb idea that pops into his head, but there’s no reason one should conform for conformity’s sake. Do your own thing.

Leave a Reply

